Analysing assignment 1 to better develop assignment 2

The feedback I received from assignment 1 confirmed what I had already discovered, that is, that I needed to change my ICT to support students learning related to the content descriptors, rather than learning ICT itself. It is important to note here that I had already submitted assignment 2 before I received this feedback. Therefore, I felt impressed with myself that I had been able to analyse my previous work and recognise the changes I needed to make, in-order to develop a ‘real life’ workable lesson plan.

For example: In assignment 1 the majority of the activities focused on ICT capabilities; Activity 1 stated that students are to select and evaluate data and information from different websites based on their own interest and typing it up in a word document. I realised that this was incorrect, as I should have been focusing on the following content descriptor; identify features of online texts that enhance readability including text, navigation, links, graphics and layout (ACELA1793). Therefore, I changed the first lesson sequence to reflect the content descriptor and achievement standards; Students will learn about online text features (vocabulary, language, and images) on websites that are used to inform and persuade audiences.

I used my best judgement to determine a more appropriate first activity, that is; the teacher will instead facilitate a whole-class discussion on what students remember about text features that are used to inform and persuade audiences. This would also allow the teacher to fulfil the pedagogy relating to Blooms Taxonomy, by allowing students to ‘remember’ what they think they already know. It was here in this development stage that I remembered myself that it was important to begin with an activity that allowed students to work they way up through higher order thinking; to develop a deeper understanding.

I then had to think about how I was going to use ICT in a way that would amplify students learning about this curriculum area; using the RAT Model. I researched YouTube to find a resource that would enable students to easily remember what they had already learned, that is, the teacher would summarise text features with a non-fiction rap video, and use a Smartboard to document student’s answers.

In conjunction, I also had to think carefully about how I was going to incorporate literacy, critical and creative thinking, and reading capabilities in this first activity. I achieved this by ensuring that: (a) the teacher provides an opportunity for students to recall vocabulary and text structures using questioning techniques for remembering; (b) the teacher provides time for students to identify and clarify information and ideas; and (c) the teacher allows students to engage in accordance to their reading-level.

I followed this process throughout the development of stage 3, where I was able to use Blooms Taxonomy myself to create appropriate activities within each lesson sequence; which enables students to engage in formative assessment leading into summative assessment.

Leave a comment